Wondering through a lake

Spent the first part of the day on Saturday messing with my new camera! I’ve been doing photo work, as far as graphic designing and just photo-editing, for about 10 years now in different levels of involvement from solely personal hobby to selling my work, but about two weeks ago I had a an idea that truly excited me. It was a thought that I couldn’t believe I had never really put together before… Why don’t I take my own pictures?! I mean, I have the ability and the patience to work on photos, why don’t I take my own?

I know that it is more than just something to do, it’s a style of art, and I want to learn it. So, I jumped in and started researching about what kind of instrument would I enlist for my new journey? After reading approximately 30 blogs and hundreds of reviews I decided that I wanted to go with a Canon DSLR the Rebel EOS T6. This is considered a great beginners weapon of choice and I totally see why. Well priced at $550 for a starter kit that comes with the camera itself, a 18-55mm lens, 75-300mm lens and carry case; it has all the necessary pieces to get started.  

How fun and exciting it is to be able to pick up a new hobby and have some more expression with photography. 

So, a buddy of mine and I went out Saturday morning with the intentions to visit a beautiful mountain top called White Rock, but never ended up there. Instead on our way there, as we cruised through the the Boston Mountains, we passed this man-made lake called Shores lake and discovered that the dam had been drained and the lake itself was nearly dried up. With this startling discovery, we had to explore the dried bed of the lake. We ended up hanging out at the lake for about four and a half hours, just roaming around and taking in the sourrondings. 

So, with that story, I want to share with you some of my favorite pictures from the day. 




2 thoughts on “Wondering through a lake

Leave a Reply

