Attending the 58th Presidential Inauguration

“I do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect, and defend the constitution of the United States.”

President Donald Trump delivered the all commanding phrase that rang through the air of the National Mall with anticipation by many, but reverence by all in attendance. As I listened to my new president take the oath of office, I couldn’t help but take in the immense and overwhelming fact that I was present for an event that would shape the future of our great country for many years to come. Those in attendance included former U.S. Presidents, Vice Presidents, Cabinet Members, Senators, Governors, many other leaders of our country and most importantly the people that elected and helped them reach these lofty positions.

I had never truly imagined how intense the passing of powers would be, until I witnessed it myself. A chill ran over the crowds of people and the next thing I knew, we were being addressed by the 45th President of the Unites States.

President Trump’s inaugural address was short and to the point. His vision for this country is to “get back on track” with the new slogan “Make America Great Again, Together” and make America the focus on American Government. He wants to enhance the infrastructure we have, refocus trade deals in our own favor and bring back jobs to American workers.

My Experience in Washington D.C. On January 20, 2017 was, although many people stand on different sides of the aisle, debating whose politics are correct, the true power of our country is the ability to stand strong in the face of adversity and come out the other side as one nation. we have proven this time and time again since the beginning of this country and that is what makes the U.S. so great.

I am truly fortunate to have been able to attend the Inauguration Ceremony with four friends form my college fraternity and will reminisce about the experience for the rest of my life.

Presidential Inauguration 1/20/2017

Leave a Reply

